Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Italian (Italy)English (United Kingdom)

Desiderio Consultants Ltd. is a think tank and a network of independent professional international development consultants established to promote and influence customs & trade-related policies in African nations to achieve trade facilitation reforms aimed at improving international and regional trade
Creativity, Commitment to Excellence, Results


New report looks at recent dynamics of East Africa’s ports competition

A new report from the consultancy firm GBS Africa gives an update on the current dynamics in port competition in East Africa. With more than 90 percent of Africa’s total trade passing through seaports, ports are crucial for trade of most African countries due to the continent’s high dependency on exports of raw materials and imports of food, manufactured goods and fuel.


Ghana develops its own National AfCFTA implementation strategy

Developed by the AfCFTA Inter-Ministerial Committee, the National AfCFTA Steering Committee and seven Technical Working Groups that comprised of representatives from the private sector, Senior Government Officials, and other technical experts, thee government of Ghana has adopted a National AfCFTA Policy Framework and Action Plan to guide the interventions needed to harmonise the existing laws, programmes, policies, and regulations with the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) regulatory framework.


AfCFTA Secretariat publishes Rules of Origin Manual

The AfCFTA Rules of Origin Manual sets out guidelines on the operationalisation of Annex 2 on Rules of Origin of the Protocol on Trade in Goods of the AfCFTA Agreement. In order to benefit from the tariff preferences under the AfCFTA goods produced in one of the AfCFTA State parties must meet specific origin rules (RoO) detailed in the Annex 2 whose interpretation, due to their highly technical nature, can be challenging for both traders and customs administrations.


AfCFTA e-Tariff book officially launched

The African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) Secretariat has officially launched the e-Tariff book as a key tool for African States to begin trading under the AfCFTA rules. The release of the AfCFTA Tariff Book was announced by the AfCFTA Secretariat at the beginning of January 2022. On 27 January 2022, during a virtual meeting on the review of the state of play in the implementation of the AfCFTA held by representatives of the World Customs Organisation (WCO), the AfCFTA Secretariat and the EU Commission, further details were revealed on the nature of the tariff book


From the EABC a policy brief on the performance of transport corridors in the EAC

Reduced costs of transport play a critical role in the competitiveness of an economy, greatly affecting its performance. The freight sector, in particular, is universally recognized as one of the core pillars of economic development and a key factor for regional integration. Aware of this, the EAC region places the improvement of trade logistics through enhancing trade facilitation measures at the center of its regional integration agenda. A new policy brief from the East Africa Business Council (EABC) shows the improvement in the logistics performance in the region as a result of a decline in tariffs and removal of trade barriers, but at the same time describes the challenges that still persist in particular on the Northern and Central Corridors and how the COVID-19 global pandemic affected performances of the Mombasa and the Dar es Salaam ports as originating points of such two corridors.


More Articles...

Page 7 of 114


View Danilo Desiderio's profile on LinkedIn


Copyright © 2011

Desiderio Consultants Ltd., Mandera Road, Kileleshwa, Nairobi (KENYA)